Kort Award

The Kort Award was established in honour of the Kort family of Barrie to recognize the participation of the entire family in the Barrie Royals programs. Their tireless efforts in support of our charity Bingo fundraising ensured financial stability for the organization for many years.

The Kort Award is presented to an individual (or group) that has made a significant contribution to the sport of basketball in the City of Barrie. The recipient may be a coach, official, player or community volunteer that has been involved with basketball in any manner of positive ways.

Recipients include:

2017 Lisa Shaw For long time dedication, contribution and commitment to the organization.
2016 Jim Fraiser For long time contribution to the Barrie Royals and local charity work
2015 Marg Mulder
James Moreau
For commitment and dedication to the Royals executive and for exceptional coaching of the inaugural Juel teams
2014 Steve Porter For long time coaching for high school and Royals programs including house league
2013 Barb Kort For long time coaching, commitment to club and assisting with basketball facilities at City of Barrie rec centres
2012 Jerry Goodel
Larry Deneau
For long time coaching and officiating for over 40 years
2011 Todd Smith
Ken Schweitzer
Coaches of club’s first D/1 Gold Medal at OBA Provincials – U15 Girls
2010 Ralph May For long time coaching, leadership in schools
2008 Bob Caville For long time coaching and commitment to club
2007 Monique Kovacs For coaching and efforts in promoting Royals house league at the City plus, efforts to have basketball facilities at East Bayfield and Holly C.C.
2005 Michele May Committment to raising the profile of girls’ basketball with Girls High School championships and support of the Royals tournaments at St Joseph’s
2004 Steve Kelman Long-time contribution as Coach of Royals teams, Regional teams, high school teams, community league organizer and Official
2003 John Knapp Co-founder of the Club and long time contribution to coaching development
2002 Doug Lowther For long time excellence in coaching various house league, high school and Royals programs
2001 Marty McCrone
Paul Hopper
Recognition of the contribution of Thunderhoops Basketball Camp to the skill development of athletes
2000 Brigg Harvey Recognition of his dedication as coach & official
1999 Kevin Cool For long time contribution to the Executive and programs
1998 Ken Urbach For contribution to new initiatives
1997 Al Stevenson For long time contribution as President
1996 Bill McAleer Retiring as coach & official for over 20 years
1995 Hennie Kort For long time contribution to Bingo program
1994 Jim Hodgins
Bob Burns
Coaches who led their team to an OBA Gold
1993 Terry Olaskey
Mike Davies
Co-founder of the Club for long time contribution to the Executive